You don’t hate Monday, you hate your job.

Oh shit it's Monday

(Image @ Kyra Teppelin)

Tomorrow is Monday.

I hate Monday.

Seriously. I feel about Monday the way I feel about stew. As a word, neither bothers me, but when faced with the beginning of the work week, or a steaming bowl of grey sludge, I am filled with disgust, terror and severe stomach pangs.

That’s the key though, isn’t it? The beginning of the work week.

They say that it’s not Monday you hate, it’s your job.

As far as I’m concerned, they’re absolutely on the mark.

I have a good job. I work in a great environment. I make a respectable wage and have pretty fantastic health and retirement benefits packages. For the most part, I do not butt heads with any co-workers. Add to that some of the nifty responsibilities my job entails, you really do have to ask: what’s the problem, then?

It’s not a dream job. It pays the bills and affords me some of the comforts I enjoy to have in life. These are important things and I am very thankful to have this job. But, I still hate Monday.

My dad does not believe that anyone loves their job. He can agree that some people enjoy aspects of their jobs, but no one loves their job. I disagree. Vehemently. There have to be people out there who love their jobs. This is the hope I cling to. If there are people out there who love their jobs then there are jobs worth loving.

Okay. So, what would I love to do? What would tickle me to get paid for?

Ultimately, I want to write. I want to write young-adult…things…. (I can’t bring myself to call anything I’m working on a “novel.” It seems awfully pretentious when you procrastinate as much as I do.) I would be on cloud nine to be able to do that full time. But, I’m a realist. So! The writing dream moves to part-time and is supplemented with other part-time work.

Where does that leave me?

Well. I have an incredible opportunity to take the time to seek some answers coming up pretty quick. I am not under the pretence that my impending maternity leave (of Doom) will grant me immediate time to search my soul for any vocational answers. But, I do hope to carve out slivers of time to suss this out. I have to. I have worked a job that wore me down to an almost unrecognizable, terrible version of myself. It’s taken me years to get to where I am and I refuse to lose myself that way again. There is no job worth selling your soul for.

My ultimate goal is to start doing the things I love now. It is very important to me that I not save my passions for retirement. (‘Cause hey, I might not make it that long.) It is very important to me to teach my child (of Doom) that he is encouraged to be happy and supported in whatever life decisions he makes. It is very important to me to provide an example of that happiness for him to follow.

Okay – your turn. Do you love what you do? If you do, what did it take for you to get here? If you don’t, what (if anything) are you doing about it?

SONY DSC

 

(Image @ Book Mania!)

Thanks folks – have a lovely day!

Queen – Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy

UNT.

20 thoughts on “You don’t hate Monday, you hate your job.

  1. Hey there 🙂

    I recently started a new job and i work up to 15 hours a day for a fairly sad pay, but somehow i really enjoy it. I am good at it and it challenges me and i learn new things, but i can’t say i LOVE it. hmm.. I wonder what job i would LOVE-LOVE? You got me thinking.
    I have thought about choosing a career and decided, that a well-paid job that i love will not happen. So i compromised, one job to pay the bills, hobbies for the soul, and education for the brain. Eventually, all these pieces might add up to one amazing job – who knows, right? And i decided that the bill-paying job will become what i make of it – if i treat like i love it, maybe i will love it? Trying to focus on the positives here 🙂 I think attitude plays a great role in anybody’s happiness regarding any aspect of their lives 🙂

    I hope you find your dream job, though, and will LOVE-LOVE it! :))

    • Hi telamore! Thanks for stopping by, and commenting. 🙂

      Congratulations on the new job and on enjoying it! That is awesome. I have worked a seriously under-paying job and adored it, I know where you’re coming from on that. I changed things in hopes for professional (and financial) evolution. I can’t say that it was a terrible decision, but I do sometimes regret job-changing like that. Especially for those reasons. But, I learn something every time I do something, so there’s that at least.

      Yup! Compromise job. I hear you. This is why I want to work PT doing something to cover mortgage and bills (but still something that I enjoy – I can’t work positions I hate. I have been there and it is soul destroying), and then be able to do what I love (and MAYBE get paid for that some day)! I think that if you want the “amazing job” that you love and you strive for that, you’ll get it. And you’re not wrong, treating it as though you love it is a great idea. One of those “the power of positive thinking” things. 🙂

      Thanks again! Great, great comment that got me thinking about a few things – especially my attitude toward my job (and jobs in the past). 🙂 I appreciate that a lot.

      Have an awesome day! 🙂

  2. Missy Jo says:

    ❤ so much to write. But in the midst of a Monday morning that started in a scramble. 😉 I'll write more when I get home. 'Cha!

  3. I’m with you – I hope and pray that there are people out there who love their jobs. It’s got to be possible, right?!

    And holy cow, I just went on a mad hunt to try and find your blog or your email address or SOMETHING because I wanted to respond to the comment you left on my post about why women rock!

    Amen to the men thing. Like, obviously the growing a baby wouldn’t really be possible without a man’s help. And I thank God every day that I have such a patient husband who is willing to stick by my side when my crazy hormones are in full swing. That’s pretty incredible, too, when you think about it!

    But yeah, women are amazing creatures. Our bodies are capable of sooo much, it’s awesome!

    • Hah! I’m sorry I was not so easy to find, but I’m glad your stalking skillz are mad awesome (I had NO doubt)!

      It IS possible. If we work hard enough and trust ourselves enough, it’ll happen. You’re already getting ahead of the game taking photography clients. That is an absolutely amazing thing – following your passion. 🙂

      Hah. Yes. I didn’t mean to cut into your post and be all “/Grrz! MEN!” I just wanted to agree that they have a (huge) part to play. I am also so, so thankful (all of the time) that I have such an amazing partner. He is a pretty perfect complement to me and I know exactly how lucky I am to have him in my life.

      You’re right. Women pwn. 😉

      • PS. (And I added it to my “About” page. Did not expect an actual influx of people here at all. Nevermind folks actually looking to email.) You can reach me at foxyouverymuch(at)gmail(dot)com if you need anything! 🙂

    • Yeah no. I don’t love my job now, so I certainly wouldn’t love it then. That’s what I mean…I haven’t found a job I LOVE. Yet.

      Thing is? I came close. There was a job I really, really enjoyed, but I quit it to go to the one I’m in currently because the money was better. That’s one of those retrospect things, though. I’m not a money person. I need what I need to help pay bills and live life, but I don’t need tens of thousands of dollars to be happy. That’s not the point. Not at all.

      So yes, I could make less and be happy. Inevitably? I will make less and be happy. 🙂 I’m making a choice, soon enough, to cut hours back and spend time with my family. It’s a pay cut in the most unimportant way possible. Money.

  4. I mean even jobs we love how there down sides. I really liked my previous job (before they let me go…which made it hurt all the more), but there were aspects that were absolutely horrendously terrible. I’m currently unemployed and am trying figure out what it is that will make me happy.

    • Absolutely. I have no delusions that even the most amazing job will have bad days. I had that in a previous job, too. Good job, for the most part. Certainly though there were bad aspects and terrible days.

      Best of luck decoybetty! I hope you find what drives your passion. And, when you do, I hope your bad days are very few and far between. 🙂

  5. I am in the EXACT same boat as you. I actually have a big girl job, but there are just so many issues I have with it that I struggle on a daily basis. But it’s a GOOD job. Therefore, I feel guilty and silly for hating it when there are so many other things that would be worse.

    Isn’t that human nature, though?

    Anyway, that is too serious of a question. Back to the question at hand. HOW DO WE BECOME FULL TIME WRITERS? We work shit jobs until someone realizes the value in our writing and then we become famous novelists. Right? Right. Also look for jobs that you might like/love in the meantime that aren’t writing.

    Hang in there!

    • Not easy, hey? I think about it the way I have thought about leaving a good relationship you’re just not happy in. It’s not abusive, I don’t (absolutely) hate it, but there’s just no spark. I need a spark.

      Absolutely right! And THAT is why I (sometimes) regret leaving the indie bookstore. There were reasons, well beyond the paycheque, that made my leaving a very good decision, but they’re difficult to reflect on when I am annoyed in my current position. At this point in the game, though? I could cheerfully leave my “big girl job” behind and go back to making a “student” wage if it meant I could come home energized and happy (for the most part). 🙂

      Back atcha! It’ll come. 🙂

      • Definitely not easy. There is just no love… and you feel bad for hating it because it isn’t necessarily mean to you. But I know people out there who truly love their jobs.

        I am honestly considering and almost planning at this point to take up “student” wage again to be happier with where I am at in life. & I guess I’ll just figure everything out from there… 🙂

Leave a Reply

