Survey says: Merry Christmas!

I have almost no time. The Little Man is (still) sleeping. (So cute, by the way. Good grief that child. He’s just…awesome.)

Anyway!

I found a survey that I had to complete. It’s a Christmas survey, guise. I frakking love Christmas. It is absolutely my favourite time of year. Everything about it is my favourite. The decorations, the music, the shiny paper, the silly hats and ugly sweaters, the amazing food, and (most importantly) the togetherness. I have an amazing network of friends and a wonderful family and while I don’t need an excuse to spend time with either, I love the opportunity that the Christmas season allows.

I credit the survey to Becca over at Becoming adorable (her answers: 10 Days Til Christmas!) – thanks Becca!

1. What do you love the most about Christmas time?
As I said, when I got ahead of myself: everything about it is my favourite. The decorations, the music, the shiny paper, the silly hats and ugly sweaters, the amazing food, and (most importantly) the togetherness. I have an amazing network of friends and a wonderful family and while I don’t need an excuse to spend time with either, I love the opportunity that the Christmas season allows.

2. Do you celebrate the holiday in style or is Bah-Humbug for you?
Christmas goes up on, at least, December 1st in this house. The tree, the various trinkets, twinkle lights on top of kitchen and bathroom cabinets. It’s a gorram Christmas explosion folks, and it’s awesome!

3. Are you leaving anything out for Santa Claus this year so he remembers to leave your presents?
No. The jolly ol’ elf is welcome to rummage through my freezer for Nanaimo bars and make himself a cuppa, but anything left out would be devoured by The Hellhound before St. Nick gets a chance.

4. What is the one gift you are most looking forward to GIVING? {It can be to your kids, another family member, etc – remember to be discreet if they read your blog}
I am so excited for The Husband to open his present (which will have to remain unmentioned)! There’s a bit of a theme with his main gifts and I’m pretty sure I was wildly successful. There’s also something special under the tree for him and TLM to share, which I am also super stoked about.

5. What is your all-time favourite Christmas movie?
I love a few of them. The claymation Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Dr. Suess’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the animated film. I have zero love for the Jom Carrey version), A Charlie Brown Christmas, and (of course) National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.

6. What is your all-time favourite Christmas song?
Carol of the Bells. The Piano Guys version is pretty spectacular. The Nylons also did a great job back in The Day.

7. If given the opportunity, would you participate in an “Ugly Sweater” party and what sweater would you wear? Peruse one on the Internet or even if your own closet and show us!
Absolutely I would! (So far I have not.) And dudes, I want to rock this bad boy:
crackling-fireplace-knit-ugly-christmas-sweater-digital-dudz-1

(Image @ Ryot.org)

8. Have you started any Christmas traditions this year that you plan on carrying forward?
No. Nothing new. Now we get to include TLM in all of The Christmas that happens in our house, which is super fun. I would like to get involved in activity Advent calendars as he gets older, though.

9. It’s Christmas morning… what does it look like outside where you live?
Snomaggedon

(Image @ my parents, who like to send cheeky emails.)

10. You just found yourself standing under the mistletoe… who comes up to give you a kiss first?
Nathan Fillion Neil. Of course.

Merry Christmas, folks! All the best to you and yours this holiday season!

postcard(Image @ Build a Holiday Lego Family!)

(I’m going to play it again. Because it’s awesome.) Corey Taylor – X-M@$

UNT.

10 thoughts on “Survey says: Merry Christmas!

  1. Haha, wow, you seem to have a lot of holiday joy to go around. I am more in the bah-humbug camp. I am more the happy with the togetherness and goodwillness but not so much the Christmas shopping and insane level of gifting and spending. A lot of people I know have started doing 1 gift or handmade only gift Christmases and I like that. I do like to read about holiday traditions, this year I have been catching up with Jol (Yule) in Iceland which is pretty funny. They have 13 Santa’s and a monstrous Christmas cat!

    The jumper is pretty cool 🙂

    • I hear you. I’m not huge on the money spending, commercial nature of the holiday. I do my fair share of gift buying, but I’d actually really love to get into crafting/creating and donating instead. My family is really very lucky to be comfortable and not wanting for much, I’d like to get more involved in helping others. I think that’d be a great thing for TLM to grow up with, too.

      Monstrous Christmas cat. Hah! Awesome. 🙂 I like your research into holiday traditions, that’s pretty cool. I’m sure there are many strange things going on this time of year, depending on where you look…like that cat.

    • Wow! Hello Karen! 🙂 How are you!?

      Awh. I miss you too, lady! I’m going to stalk you through the email address you provided. Thanks for finding me!

Leave a Reply

