Winter List. (And G’bye 2013!)

Just like we did with Autumn.

Winter!

hd-wallpapers-winter-season-snow-christmas-trees-tree-desktop-wallpaper-1280x1024-wallpaper(Image found @ walldime.com)

Playlist: I would really like to both get my walk on regularly and get back to the gym, so I think my winter playlist is going to look really club-y. I exercise far more successfully to late ’90s/early ’00s dance tunes. This bitchin’ little number, for example:

Movies Television: While I love movies, I think television will be my weakness this season. Netflix (Canada) has uploaded some awesome programming recently. Top of my list? Doctor Who. I have been itching to watch this for a long while, so  Netflix adding it to the docket seems pretty serendipitous.

Books: Ugh. I still have to get through all of the Autumn list. I have read nothing (but blogs) for months. I really need to get my shit together.

Adventures outside: Snow walks, hopefully with TLM in tow in the ridiculously cute little red sled he was given. (Husband got a wicked new winter coat and boots for Christmas, so there’s really no excuse not to get out in the snow with the son and the dog.) …The Hellhound really ought to be harnessed to said sled to pull the tot around. Hmm….

Adventures inside: Kendra’s Journal in the New You 2014, the establishment of Kim’s Writing Day (a personal date, one day a week, when I can get some work done), and some serious baking with my Christmas present (a Kitchenaid stand mixer. /Swoon).

Smells & Flavors: Gingerbread. Sugar cookie. Chai. (More) coffee. Chocolate. Snow. Pine.

Sounds: The crunch of snow beneath your feet. Baby snores. The thump.thump.thump of my feet hitting the track as I walk, and try my hand at running.

HNY(Image @ fellowfellow.com)

And? Because you’re all still here, I’ll give you my goals for 2014. Not resolutions. Goals.

  • Write. (Actual things. On an actual schedule.)
  • Move. (My body. I have a very strong desire to get walking and get back to the gym. Also on an actual schedule.)
  • Add “Kim” to the balance I’ve been able to strike between “wife” and “mother.”
  • Learn how to say “No.” (just no. No explanation needed) and start saying it.
  • Confront a difficult conversation.

That’s it. Those are the things I really want to do in 2014. Mostly, I just want to continue down this awesome road of self-discovery and self-acceptance.

All the best to you and yours, folks. May this be a truly beautiful new year.

Ed Sheeran & Passenger – No Diggity vs. Thrift Shop (Kygo Remix)

UNT.

11 thoughts on “Winter List. (And G’bye 2013!)

  1. Good luck! What works for me is to make something a routine, like reading a book for 30 mins before bet or stretching for 2 mins as soon as I get up. You have to remember to do it at the beginning but after a while it becomes natural 🙂

    • I really need to do that. I have been flipping through magazines in the tub recently and that’s been kind of nice – just short articles, nothing I have to think too much about. I should pick up some short fiction anthologies, or essay collections to get my reading groove back!

      You’re right, routine is awesome. I am so good at doing something after I have established it as a routine. No better time than now to try.

  2. Happy New Year! I like your taste in TV! I’ve also been wanting to watch Dr. Who, and I’m also over the moon about Sherlock’s return. Squeeeee

    • ! Have you watched Archer yet? That is my other current (Netflix) addiction. SO funny. (In a super caustic, sarcastic, AWESOME way.)

Leave a Reply

